• Reduce text

    Reduce text
  • Restore text size

    Restore text size
  • Increase the text

    Increase the text
  • Print

    Print

Why tick bites induce red meat allergy in humans?

. © INRA, A. Cabezas-Cruz
Updated on 09/25/2018
Published on 09/25/2018
Keywords:

Unlike most food allergies, in which symptoms occur within minutes of consuming the allergen, allergic reactions related to the Alpha-gal syndrome are delayed. The symptoms can appear four to six hours after a meal containing red meat. The first report of the association between tick bites and red meat allergy was in 2007 when the Australian allergist Professor Sheryl van Nunen described 24 cases of meat allergy associated with tick bites. Later in 2009, Professor Thomas Platts-Mills identified the molecule causing these severe allergic reactions. Patients allergic to red meat, Platts-Mills discovered, had allergic antibodies to a complex sugar called galactose-alpha-1,3-galactose, or alpha-gal for short.

Currently, it is generally accepted that ticks that cause Alpha-gal syndrome carry alpha-gal molecules from the blood of the animals they commonly bite, such as cows, sheep and rabbits. It is then believed that when an alpha-gal-charged tick bites a human, the tick injects alpha-gal into the person inducing allergic antibodies. This implies that tick larvae that never fed before cannot induce the Alpha-gal syndrome. This accepted wisdom was challenged by Dr. Alejandro Cabezas-Cruz and his colleagues of the UMR BIPAR (Anses, EnvA, INRA), located in the Laboratory for Animal Health of Anses (Maisons-Alfort) and Spain  who asked whether ticks were able to produce their own alpha-gal. In a manuscript published in the journal Scientific Reports (https://rdcu.be/7mlF), Cabezas-Cruz reported the discovery of three tick genes encoding for galactosyltransferase enzymes that can produce alpha-gal. When human and bacterial cells that do not produce alpha-gal where transformed with these genes, these alpha-gal-negative cells became alpha-gal positive. In addition, when these genes were knockdown using RNA interference, the levels of tick alpha-gal decreased. The researchers further showed that the tick-borne bacteria, Anaplasma phagocytophilum, induce the expression of one of these genes, which resulted in the increase of tick alpha-gal.

This study has two main implications. Firstly, it shows that ticks do not need to feed on any animal to carry alpha-gal. Therefore, the bite of any tick stage, including larvae, can induce Alpha-gal syndrome. Secondly, tick infected by the bacteria Anaplasma phagocytophilum may have higher levels of alpha-gal increasing the probability of inducing Alpha-gal syndrome. This influences our current way of thinking about tick-pathogen interactions since according to these results, the consequences of microbial infection of ticks are not only related to transmission of pathogens to animals and/or humans, but also to the increased ability that infected ticks may have to induce alpha-gal syndrome in humans.

Reference

Alejandro Cabezas-Cruz, Pedro J. Espinosa, Pilar Alberdi, Ladislav Šimo, James J., Valdés, Lourdes Mateos-Hernández, Marinela Contreras, Margarita Villar Rayo, José de la Fuente. 2018. Tick galactosyltransferases are involved in α-Gal synthesis and play a role during Anaplasma phagocytophilum infection and Ixodes scapularis tick vector development.  Scientific Reports (2018). 8:14224
DOI:10.1038/s41598-018-32664-z

Contact

• Réduire le texte

    Réduire le texte
  • Rétablir taille du texte

    Rétablir taille du texte
  • Augmenter le texte

    Augmenter le texte
  • Imprimer

    Imprimer

Pourquoi les piqûres de tiques induisent-elles une allergie à la viande rouge chez l'Homme?

. © Inra, A. Cabezas-Cruz
Mis à jour le 25/09/2018
Publié le 25/09/2018
Mots-clés :

Contrairement à la plupart des allergies alimentaires, dans lesquelles les symptômes apparaissent quelques minutes après la consommation de l'allergène, les réactions allergiques liées au syndrome alpha-gal sont retardées. Les symptômes peuvent en effet apparaître quatre à six heures après un repas contenant de la viande rouge. La première mention de l'association entre les piqûres de tiques et l'allergie à la viande rouge remonte à 2007, lorsque l’australien Sheryl van Nunen a décrit 24 cas d'allergie à la viande associée aux morsures de tiques. Dès 2009, Thomas Platts-Mills a identifié la molécule à l'origine de ces réactions allergiques graves. Il a en effet découvert que les patients allergiques à la viande rouge présentaient des anticorps spécifiques de classe IgE vis-à-vis d’un sucre complexe appelé galactose-alpha-1,3-galactose (alpha-gal en abrégé).

Il était généralement admis jusqu’à présent que les tiques à l'origine du syndrome alpha-gal acquéraient des molécules alpha-gal du sang des animaux qu'elles piquent couramment, comme les vaches, les moutons et les lapins. Cette hypothèse postulait logiquement que lorsqu'une tique chargée d'alpha-gal piquait un humain, cette tique lui injectait de l'alpha-gal, induisant ainsi la production d’IgE anti-alpha-gal. Cette hypothèse implique que les larves de tiques qui n'ont jamais été nourries auparavant sur animaux ne peuvent induire le syndrome alpha-gal. Alejandro Cabezas-Cruz et ses collègues de l’UMR BIPAR (Anses, EnvA, INRA), localisé sur le site du laboratoire Santé Animale de l’Anses (Maisons-Alfort) et d'Espagne se sont demandés si les tiques ne pouvaient pas produire leur propre alpha-gal, remettant en cause cette hypothèse. Dans un manuscrit publié dans la revue Scientific Reports (https://rdcu.be/7mlF), Alejandro Cabezas-Cruz a décrit la découverte de trois gènes de tiques codant pour des enzymes galactosyl-transférases capables de produire de l'alpha-gal. Lorsque des cellules humaines et bactériennes qui ne produisent pas naturellement d'alpha-gal ont été transformées avec ces gènes, ces cellules alpha-gal-négatives sont devenues alpha-gal positives. En outre, lorsque ces gènes ont été inhibés par RNA interférence, les taux d’alpha-gal dans les tiques ont diminué. Les chercheurs ont en outre montré que la bactérie pathogène transmise par les tiques, Anaplasma phagocytophilum, induit l'expression de l'un de ces gènes, entraînant une augmentation de l'alpha-gal dans les tiques.

Cette étude a deux implications principales. Tout d'abord, elle montre que les tiques n'ont pas besoin de se nourrir sur un animal pour acquérir l'alpha-gal. Par conséquent, la piqûre de n'importe quel stade de la tique, y compris les larves, peut induire un syndrome alpha-gal. Deuxièmement, les tiques infectées par la bactérie Anaplasma phagocytophilum peuvent avoir des taux plus élevés d'alpha-gal, augmentant la probabilité d'induire un syndrome alpha-gal. Cela fait apparaître sous un jour nouveau les interactions entre les tiques et les agents microbiens qu’elles peuvent transmettre, puisque les conséquences de cette infection microbienne des tiques peuvent non seulement être la transmission d’agents pathogènes aux animaux et/ou à l’Homme, mais aussi une aptitude accrue des tiques infectées à induire un syndrome allergique dans l’espèce humaine.

Référence

Alejandro Cabezas-Cruz, Pedro J. Espinosa, Pilar Alberdi, Ladislav Šimo, James J., Valdés, Lourdes Mateos-Hernández, Marinela Contreras, Margarita Villar Rayo, José de la Fuente. 2018. Tick galactosyltransferases are involved in α-Gal synthesis and play a role during Anaplasma phagocytophilum infection and Ixodes scapularis tick vector development.  Scientific Reports (2018). 8:14224
DOI:10.1038/s41598-018-32664-z

Contact