• Reduce text

    Reduce text
  • Restore text size

    Restore text size
  • Increase the text

    Increase the text
  • Print

    Print

Citizen Science Seminar

 © E. Chaillou - J.F. Cosson
Updated on 07/18/2019
Published on 05/06/2019


PROGRAM




9h00-9h15 : Introduction & Results of the SAPS survey.

Mathilde Dupont-Nivet and Jean-François Cosson

We will present the expectations of the participants from our survey on citizen science, the possible projects and experiences along with the attactivity and obstacles as perceived by SAPS members towards this new form of production of scientific knowledge.
 

9h15-10h15 : Citizen Science at INRA.  

Christophe Roturier, INRA delegate for science and society

Citizen science is more and more frequent in both academic and private research in France and throughout the world. This seminar will provide an opportunity to describe the reasons behind this growth and the added value of these initiatives, as well as the structural resources that INRA has developed to encourage and help units and researchers interested by entering into a citizen science approach.
 

10h15-10h45 : Coffee break

During the coffee break and during the following presentation, the participants are invited to write down their impressions and their questions on post-its, which will then be shared during the round table discussion.
 

10h45-11h15 : First presentation of citizen science project: Citique

Jean-François Cosson, INRA Bipar, Maisons Alfort

CiTIQUE : a citizen science project where citizens help research on ticks and tick-born pathogens. This project is led by scientists wanting to open their research projects to the public in the hopes of increasing scientific knowledge at a greater rate. Citizen participation includes anything from observations through the interpretation of results and may include laboratory work: sampling and experimentation
 

11h15-12h00 : Second presentation of a citizen science project: Neuro2Co

Elodie Chaillou, INRA PRC, Tours

The Neuro2Co project is aimed at showing that the organization of neuron connections for emotions includes the capacties of animals to adapt using three models: a genetic model (comparison of two quail lines selected on fear behavior), an environmental model (comparison of two groups of lambs raised in two different social environments) and animals characterized by their behavior ecology (predators, prey, social, territorial, ...). The connectomes are descirbe by magnetic resonance imaging and can not be described without previously segmenting the neuron regions. This last step is a critical step and very sensitive to the person doing the experimentation. In particular, a neuranatomist expert will identify too many structures; to counteract this bias, we chose to sollicit non-experts by developing a participatory science approach with middle school students.

12h00-13h00 : Round table & discussion

Moderators: Mathilde Dupont-Nivet, Jean-François Cosson, Christophe Roturier, Elodie Chaillou and Wendy Brand Williams

The discussion will be the most interactive as possible and will begin by a summary (mind map) of the information noted on the post-it. We also reserve a moment at the end of the session to plan the post-seminar future.

• Réduire le texte

    Réduire le texte
  • Rétablir taille du texte

    Rétablir taille du texte
  • Augmenter le texte

    Augmenter le texte
  • Imprimer

    Imprimer

Séminaire Sciences et Recherches Participatives

 © E. Chaillou - J.F. Cosson
Mis à jour le 07/05/2019
Publié le 06/05/2019


PROGRAMME




9h00-9h15 : Introduction & Résultats du sondage SAPS.

Mathilde Dupont-Nivet et Jean-François Cosson

Nous présenterons les attentes exprimées par les participants à notre sondage sur les sciences participatives, les projets, les expériences ainsi que les attraits et les freins perçus par les membres du SAPS vis-à-vis de cette nouvelle forme de production de connaissances scientifiques.

9h15-10h15 : Les sciences participatives à l’INRA.  

Christophe Roturier, délégué aux sciences et société à l’INRA

Les sciences participatives sont de plus en plus mobilisées en appui aux recherches académiques et privées en France et dans le Monde. Cette intervention sera l’occasion de décrire les raisons sous-jacentes à cet essor et la plus-value de ces initiatives, ainsi que les ressources structurelles que l’Inra met en place pour inciter et aider les unités et les chercheurs à s’inscrire dans cette dynamique.

10h15-10h45 : Pause café

Pendant la pause-café, puis tout au long des témoignages suivants, les participants seront invités à consigner « à chaud » leurs impressions et leurs questionnements sur des post-it qui seront utilisés lors de la table ronde.

10h45-11h15 : Premier Témoignage sur un projet de recherches participatives : Citique

Jean-François Cosson, INRA Bipar, Maisons Alfort

CiTIQUE : un projet de recherche participative où les citoyens peuvent aider la recherche sur les tiques et les maladies qu’elles transmettent. Ce projet est porté par des scientifiques désireux d’ouvrir leurs recherches aux citoyens pour faire avancer plus vite les connaissances scientifiques. Les citoyens peuvent participer à l’effort de recherche, depuis l’observation jusqu’à l’interprétation des résultats en passant par le travail en laboratoire : échantillonnage et expérimentation.

11h15-12h00 : Deuxième témoignage sur un projet de recherches participatives : Neuro2Co

Elodie Chaillou, INRA PRC, Tours

Le projet Neuro2Co vise à démontrer que l’organisation des connexions neuronales du circuit des émotions rend compte des capacités d’adaptation des animaux en s’appuyant sur 3 modèles : un modèle génétique (comparaison de deux lignées de cailles sélectionnées sur un comportement de peur), un modèle environnemental (comparaison de deux groupes d’agneaux élevés dans deux environnements sociaux différents), et des animaux caractérisés par leur écologie comportementale (prédateur, proie, grégaire, territoriaux…). Les connectomes sont décrits par imagerie par résonance magnétique et ne peuvent être décrits sans un travail préalable de segmentation des régions neuronales. Cette dernière étape est une étape critique très sensible à l’expérimentateur. En particulier, un expert neuroanatomiste verra trop de structures, pour contrecarrer ce biais, nous avons choisi de solliciter des non experts en développant une démarche de sciences participatives avec des collégiens.

12h00-13h00 : Table ronde & discussion avec la salle

Animateurs : Mathilde Dupont-Nivet, Jean-François Cosson, Christophe Roturier, Elodie Chaillou et Wendy Brand Williams

La discussion se veut le plus possible interactive avec les participants et sera amorcée par une synthèse collective (mind map) des informations portées sur les post-it. Nous réserverons également un moment en fin de session pour envisager les suites à donner à ce premier séminaire.